Steering Committee

Members of the Steering Committee bring the perspective, experience, and commitment of their respective organization to the Steering Committee. Further, members are expected to bring the expertise, needs, concerns, and support of their organizations or interest groups to the task of implementing the CCMP. This role implies extensive coordination among members and formation of a partnership that supports working collaboratively to develop and implement the CCMP. Support and buy-in from members will mean that implementation is more likely to be faster, more effective, more efficient, and consistent with the goals of addressing estuarine issues on a holistic, cross-jurisdictional scale.

All Steering Committee Meetings are held on the third Wednesday, quarterly

  • April 15th, 10am-2pm – Rhode Island Community Foundation, 1 Union Station, Providence, RI
  • June 24th, 10am-2pm – MA Location TBD
  • September 23rd, 10am-2pm – RI Location TBD
  • December 23rd*, 10am-2pm – MA Location TBD

*The date of this meeting is likely to change to accommodate the holiday season



Vice Chair

Caitlin Chaffee, Policy Analyst
Coastal Resources Management Council

Committee Members

(*) Indicates also member of Executive Committee

Laura Blake, Director of the Watershed Planning Program*
Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection

Eric Boettger, Resource Conservationist
United States Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service – Rhode Island

Rachel Calabro, Climate Change Program Manager
Rhode Island Department of Health

Priscilla Chapman, President
Taunton River Watershed Alliance

Pieter de Jong, Board member
Blackstone River Coalition

Walter Galloway, Public Member
Rhode Island Rivers Council

David Janik, South Coastal Regional Coordinator
Massachusetts Office of Coastal Zone Management

Robert Johnston, Professor of Economics and
Director, George Perkins Marsh Institute, Clark University

Susan Kiernan, Deputy Chief*
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management, Office of Water Resources

Tom Kutcher, Wetlands Scientist
Rhode Island Natural History Survey

Regina Lyons, Ocean and Coastal Protection Unit Manager *
United States Environmental Protection Agency – Region 1 (New England)

James McCaughey, Director of Administration
Narragansett Bay Commission

Kate Michaud, Town Manager
Town of Warren, RI

Bill Napolitano, Environmental Program Director
Southeastern Regional Planning & Economic Development District

Heidi Ricci, Senior Policy Analyst *
Mass Audubon

Karla H. Sangrey, Engineer-Director/ Treasurer
Upper Blackstone Clean Water

Cassius Spears, Tribal Member
Narragansett Indian Tribe

Bob Stankelis, Reserve Manager
Narragansett Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve

Jonathan Stone, Executive Director *
Save The Bay

Susan Sullivan, Deputy Director *
New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission

John O’Brien, Policy/Partnership Specialist
The Nature Conservancy – Rhode Island Chapter

Nate Vinhateiro, Associate Director
University of Rhode Island – Coastal Institute

Caitlyn Whittle, Program Coordinator
United States Environmental Protection Agency – Region 1 (New England)

Nick Wildman, Priority Projects Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Fish and Game – Division of Ecological Restoration